40 Pools

Celebrating a Big Birthday with 40 Swims

Pools I Covet: Dutchess County YMCA

on March 13, 2012

Poughkeepsie YMCA site availableWith the Poughkeepsie Middle School pool out of commission for a few months due to repairs and upgrades, the City of Poughkeepsie (pop. 37,000+) is now without a 25-yard pool. The other 25-yard pool from my youth, a YMCA downtown, closed in January 2009 and is pretty much blight at this point. Initial reports that a church group might take over the facility did not pan out, so it sits there empty. Makes me sad every time I pass it.

I could walk to that Y through my neighbors’ backyard, and often did for swim practice and other activities. It had your basic 25-yard, 6-lane pool. Prior to when I could walk there on my own, I attended various Red Cross swim programs, gym-and-swim, and even play group. I remember going to my brother’s gym-and-swim class too. It was definitely a well-used community fixture.

I hope that someone finds a way to return it to use.

2 responses to “Pools I Covet: Dutchess County YMCA

  1. Carolyn says:

    That pool was the only regulation-size indoor pool in all of Dutchess County that was open to the general public.

    However, today it’s a huge mess. This is just a rumor I heard, but because the power was shut off to the building in the middle of a very cold January, all the pipes froze, and a crack not runs all the way up and down the length of the pool. To just open the doors again would cost upwards of two million dollars, and to do the long-needed repairs would be even more.

    Pool opening talk is a hot topic among local swimmers, and I think we’ve all but given up on seeing the Y again.

  2. Braden Henry says:

    Not right. Why should Poughkeepsie be without a local YMCA with a nice pool? O.K., so if it costs more to open its doors, then build a new YMCA with a pool. Poughkeepsie supervisors, and community member who are influential, don’t hesitate to build everything else for Poughkeepsie, and a lot of the new buildings, shoppings malls, etc….are not needed whatsoever! A new YMCA would not be a waste of taxpayers money.

Leave a Reply

