40 Pools

Celebrating a Big Birthday with 40 Swims

#78: Lewisboro Town Pool

on July 22, 2014

the long viewLocation: South Salem, New York

Configuration: 6 25-yard lanes for lap swimming; also option for 6 50-meter lanes

Fee: Oops, was I supposed to pay?

Had I known about the Lewisboro Town Pool during the two summers I lived nearby, it would have been my hangout. Somehow I only learned about it now, half a lifetime later, and it’s still a delightful discovery.

DSCN1359_lewisboroUnlike New York City outdoor pools, which embrace all lined-swimsuit-wearing, lock-carrying masses yearning to swim free, Westchester County keeps a tight grip on who gets in. At least that’s what they’d like you to think. My dad, a Lewisboro resident, was confident about our chances, but I was prepared for the worst after reading the fee and ID requirements in the local paper. I needn’t have worried. We took the road less traveled on the way in and unwittingly bypassed the entry gate entirely. It wasn’t until we were leaving that we figured out the error of our ways, and we chose not to set the score straight this time. Dad hadn’t even swum, after all, and I didn’t want to risk being denied entry after already swimming!

me, Larry, BillThe 25-yard end of the pool was dedicated to lap swimming, and the etiquette seemed to be each to his own. Seeing my shadow ripple across the pool bottom through the clear water reminded me of the Panama City Beach Aquatic Center, which also has the luxury of space.

My swim buddies–in their own lanes–were my dad’s friend Larry (standing at right) and his friend Bill (in the water), both of whom are regulars. Other patrons on this Friday afternoon included day campers and off-duty lifeguards. Little kids splashed in the play pool, and fearless divers practiced from the high dive in a pool of their own. Dad cheered us on from the side and happily joined me for après-swim ice cream.

Meanwhile, neighbors are coveting the pool. New Canaan, a nearby Connecticut town that even Westchester people describe as extremely wealthy, is in search of pool space during its YMCA pool renovations. The Y has offered to at least temporarily winterize the Lewisboro pool–by installing a heated bubble and upgrading the open-air locker rooms–in order to have the pool at its behest. According to poolside gossip, the project is out to bid and may well happen, in which case Lewisboro could end up coveting its own pool. After the New Canaanites return across the border, Lewisboro would have to decide what to keep. Here’s hoping the bubble still has a way in for scofflaws!

Larry, me, and dad

Larry, me, and dad with the dive pool behind us.

Leave a Reply

