40 Pools

Celebrating a Big Birthday with 40 Swims

The 40 Pools Project

on January 1, 2012

This blog is about my 2012 project to swim in 40 pools. I came up with this idea to mark the occasion of a big birthday that falls early in the year. January is not the most exciting time for celebrations, or for pool tourism–one of my favorite activities–so this project is a way to spread the fun throughout the year.  Whenever possible, I hope to share the pools with friends, and those who can’t join me in person can follow along here.

People have been curious to know which pools will “count.” The answer is that any pool will do, as long as it’s possible to do a real swim workout in it. It can be a pool I’ve visited before, although it doesn’t have to be, and it can be anywhere in the world. I am happy to consider suggestions and welcome invitations to visit pools.

New Year’s Day is a pool holiday here in New York, so I made no headway on the project on the first day of the year. Fortunately, there are still plenty of days and plenty of pools.

7 responses to “The 40 Pools Project

  1. John Hughes says:

    Hi Hannah, I have a few pools in the burbs that you can take Metro North to and help me do some workouts training for MIMS: Hommocks pool in Larchmont, NY (my H.S. pool: 12 feet deep, 18 lanes 25 yards ). Greenwich YMCA (50 meters X 25 yards. Tues and Thurs it is set up long course). Rye YMCA (there is a group of weekend warriors that meet on Sat. morning at 7:30 and Sunday mornings at 8am. 6 lanes, 25 yards). Do I assume correctly that you have been to the pool (or pools) on Roosevelt Island? I bet you will find well more than 40.
    Good luck and happy 40th BD! (hope I’m the first to wish it)

  2. Hannah says:

    John, you are the first commenter and the first to send birthday wishes. Thanks for these suggestions–they sound great! And yes, the Pool Tourism Club did an outing to the Roosevelt Island Sportspark pool last year and greatly enjoyed the facility. A reprise is definitely in order.

  3. Barbara Lindsey says:

    How about coming back to the pool where you swam on the high school swim team?

  4. Lance Ogren says:

    Sounds like a lot of fun! Will help get you into a couple of pools downtown!!

  5. Patrick says:

    Cool idea, Hannah. I’m a masters swimmer who has been tracking the pools I’ve swum in since I turned 40 (alas, about 5 years ago) and hit my 70th pool this past week. Let me know how wide and far your travels will take you. I live out west and I’ve got some killer recommendations out west. One of my longer term goals is to swim in as many Olympic pools as possible: we’ve got three in North America that are still accessible — Montreal (’76), LA (’84 on the USC campus now), Atlanta (’96 on the GA Tech campus now). I made Sydney back in ’03, but didn’t start pool tracking unitl ’07 … another excuse to go to Australia in the future.

  6. Erin says:

    I stumbled across your site while searching for a pool to join in Manhattan. In all my web searches until now, I only came across the expensive clubs below 96th street, which are not so convenient for me since I live in Harlem and work north of the city. So I was very happy to read about all the other state, city and university pools that are far more accessible. I look forward to checking them out. Thanks so much for writing all this up! Happy birthday!

Leave a Reply

