40 Pools

Celebrating a Big Birthday with 40 Swims

Thoughts About Swimming in Australia

on February 18, 2014

me with the Aussie flag towel by the fast laneI’ve been back in the New York winter for more than a month now and wanted to get down some final observations before they completely escape me. Overall, my simple advice to anyone contemplating a swim trip to Australia is go. You’ll pick up the lingo, adapt to swimming on the left, and fall in love with the swim culture in no time.

Their pools are made for swimming. Wide lanes, taught lane lines, clear markings on the bottom, built-in start blocks, backstroke flags, pace clocks, clean water . . . the pools I visited were all wonderfully suited for lap swimmers. Many even had wave-reducing gutters and competition walls. If only the lane designations (for example, “fast, no breaststroke”) were heeded by swimmers or enforced by lifeguards, it would have been just about perfect, but that breach of etiquette proved a minor nuisance given the lack of crowding.

As locals tell it, the pool movement dates to Melbourne’s winning bid to host the 1956 Olympic Games–not only Australia’s first Olympics, but the first time the Games graced the entire Southern Hemisphere. Towns across the continent embraced the spirit by building their own competition-ready pools, and when they say “Olympic-sized,” they do in fact mean 50 meters. I could have racked up many more blog-worthy pools given the time.

Sydney pool signGood design extends beyond the pool. In Sydney especially, I was impressed by the design in and around the pools. The signage and literature were consistent in look and feel and utility not only from pool to pool but throughout the whole city. I was rarely confused about where to go or how to get there (MSAC being the glaring exception), rules, or use of facilities. It was lovely. Meanwhile, water conservation is an important consideration, with pool covers, recirculation systems, cogeneration plants, and timed showers all helping to reduce energy water usage.

Which came first, the pool or the café? There is still a visible enthusiasm for building and maintaining community pools, but they sometimes seem to be just an excuse for a café. Aussies take their coffee seriously–and frequently. At beaches and pools alike, they don’t like to be far from the next cuppa joe.

Bring your own toys, and leave your lock at home. Accessories such as kickboards and pull buoys were not commonly available, so people toted their own. For a suit spinner, you’re out of luck. Meanwhile, the one thing I did bring to every pool–my combination lock–never saw use. Almost everywhere, lockers were a revenue stream that required renting a key or purchasing time via a machine. Plus, they were usually on or near the pool deck rather than in the locker change rooms. I prefer the US system on both counts.

find the lifeguardIt’s all good. People were remarkably relaxed about pool entry and use. No full-body scrubdowns as in Iceland, no full-body searches for contraband as at NYC outdoor pools, no restrictions on food, photos, or other fun activities.

The lifeguards lack chairs (and therefore weren’t sleeping and texting) and were fully attired in shorts, polo shirts, hats, shoes, and walkie-talkies–seemingly more ready to go deliver a package than dive in for a rescue. Amazingly, the beaches were staffed with volunteer lifeguard corps only, except for the pros in Bondi, and there seemed to be a lot of local fundraising for these surf rescue squads’ equipment and clubhouses.

I’ve seen a lot of superfast Aussie swimmers in my day, and I was worried about being left in the wake of the whole country, but the breadth of abilities I encountered was more or less like what I see in New York. Jo told me that swimming is no longer compulsory in the schools, so Australia’s aquatic edge may slowly start to fade.

Bondi Icebergs club and beach viewWaterfront privatization OK if it’s been going on long enough. Much as I loved the sea baths, I’m not comfortable with the practice of turning over a stretch of waterfront to a private operation that restricts access and charges admission. Shark protection may have something to do with this, but history was the stronger force. Many sea baths were built on sites used for bathing and fishing by Aborigines, and those that survived to the present became beloved landmarks for the newer settlers–excluding Aborigines until relatively recently.

Pools should be free. If I could change one thing about Australia’s outdoor pools, it would be to make them free. We are spoiled in that regard here in New York, and I’ve come to regard outdoor pool entry fees as an unfair shakedown. At the very least, I would suggest that a municipality’s pools have a standard rate and a multi-pass, sort of like mass transit, the perfect ticket for this pool-rich, tourist-heavy country.

3 responses to “Thoughts About Swimming in Australia

  1. Hi! A friend sent me a link to this blog and its making me homesick! I am a Melbourian living (and swimming) here in New York now. You swam in my home pool of Fitzroy and the photos made me want to jump on a plane and go swimming there again. It seems like you had a wonderful trip. I’m glad you enjoyed our sunny shores!
    I just wanted to weigh in with where I agree and disagree. I agree about lockers, completely, as well as pool toys. I also wish they’d jump on board with suit spinners! However I disagree that all outdoor pools should be free. New Yorks free outdoor pools are like a summer treat but I find them extremely lacking as a lap swimmer. In my part of Brooklyn the closest pool in the Koscisuzko pool in Bed Stuy that is open from 11am – 4pm every day for just a couple of short months and is mostly turned over to children. If you’d like to swim laps you can swim the short side of the pool if theres space. The Fitzroy Pool is open all year round, is always available for adults and children and is clean and temperature controlled. The outdoor pools and indoor pools don’t function differently in Australia generally. The primary function of NYC’s outdoor pools seems to be fun for kids, the primary function in Australias outdoor pools is often water exercise (lap swimming, swimming classes). My swim pass for Fitzroy allowed me access to all the pools in that municipality (Collingwood, Richmond, Clifton Hill), and my masters swim pass was good at all of them as well (not to mention only about $6). The pools also have lower rates for students and low income, so its generally within reach (and cheaper than a drop in at my local NYC YMCA at $12). Imagine if this were just your local pool, not specifically outdoor, thats how it is. It’s not a summer thing, its just the pool you go to happens to be outdoors!
    Having a decent outdoor pool to drop into anytime of the day is something I miss terribly here. I tried to swim at McCarren Park but the hours are so brief and of that huge pool such a small section is given over.
    I’ve never swam at the baths but you bring up an interesting point about them charging for beach swimming! I always just swam in the ocean around Brighton and St.Kilda!

    Oh and those starfish you mentioned – they are soooo beautiful and its always fun to snorkel and look at them all. Sadly they are not native and are a huge ecological problem :( They have come in on the hulls of tankers and made their home in Port Phillip, mostly since the Bay was dredged a while back. It’s such a shame. I do love taking my little cousins out to snorkel and look at them and the massive rays that swim around!

    Thanks for your great blog! I will try not to jump on a plane tomorrow just to go swimming in the Fitzroy sunshine!

    Dans.

  2. Hannah says:

    Thanks for reading and for your input. I’m sorry you don’t have better outdoor pool options in Brooklyn. You should try Brighton Beach if you haven’t already. I think you are right about the pool fees–if I stayed longer I would see the logic in them, and they are minor compared to the cost of everything else in Australia. If you do jump on a plane tomorrow, please take me with you!

    • reina morton-kenaya says:

      Lets not forget that there are 30 ocean pools along the Sydney coast and in most of them it is possible to do laps, free of charge 365 days a year if you feel like it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

